Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disappointed in quality

Update by user Jun 05, 2020

I don't want/need a refund from Tidewater, just very disappointed.

Original review posted by user Jun 05, 2020
Ordered a 3' settee to replace an older Tidewater one, same model. I have to say here that the old one lasted DECADES! So, time for a new one. Wow, am I disappointed. The seat slats are marred and rough (not sanded), the two sets of legs are different lengths. I could deal with that. The bad part is the seat itself is so warped that, when assembled, one leg sits a full 1" off the ground. The warping of the seat section is so noticeable, I have to wonder how/why Tidewater let this poor quality and damaged item leave the shop. Sure, it is the time of COVID-19. But still!

User's recommendation: Cheap, but add on the shipping, and you may be better off going somewhere else.

View full review
ID
#1969758 Review #1969758 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Design
  • Selection
  • Price
Cons
  • Service
  • Quality of product
  • High shipping cost
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

Unable to order products

Difficulty in ordering your products
View full review
ID
#2099337 Review #2099337 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Furniture Mart Owner
Cons
  • Service
  • Service sucks
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Communicating with them is very DIFFICULT. Phone goes to voicemail which is always "Full" and won't take messages. FAX rings and rings with no answer.

Poor communications with Tidewater. How do you guys ever do business?

User's recommendation: Shop online only/ Good company, great product. Lousy service.

View full review
ID
#2098518 Review #2098518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Larchmont, New York

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Trying to place 2 orders.Your phone and fax not working. Please call Larry 1-91*-834-****

Very frustrated with your communications system!
View full review
ID
#2098493 Review #2098493 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
Like many others here, was a repeat customer. Charged on May 19th for my order, it's July 16 and several calls and an email later and no update on my order. Very disappointed.
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1750867

I received their catalogs for years, their items looked nice and I always hoping to someday make a purchase. Well they had another of their ongoing sales and the day finally came.

I ordered a bench and two side chairs. A month or two later (had not received the first order yet) I ordered 2 rockers. Think I waited over 5 months for the order to be delivered and that happened only after I sent them notice that I was going to notify the NJ Office of Atty General for Consumer Affairs. So I unpacked the stuff and saw that it looked like second-quality, sub-standard wood - some twisted, some bowed, some with large defects.

Put it all together....what a bunch of second-tier crap. It wobbles and you can't tighten it. A "free" coffee table was so bowed and miscut that the four legs go off in different directions. To top it off the furniture was all on the small side - the chairs are narrow and have short legs and everything is close to the ground.

They've been in business for a long time and their stuff is sold retail by name companies but I just wonder if the good stuff goes to retail and the cast-off stuff is sold from the catalog....when they give you their scolding about being willing to wait for big discounts as a mail-order customer they should also say that you should be willing to accept poor quality goods. Never, ever again.

ID
#1589723 Review #1589723 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$350
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Ordered, charged, no delivery

Well I will repeat what all these other Complaints are saying. March 5, 2018 ordered a Bench...here it is Nov 19, 2018 and still nothing. No calls or emails ever returned but boy that money came out of my account faster than I can type this. As a repeat Customer...NEVER EVER EVER will I order or recommend this ripoff woodwork shop again. This blew the Surprise I had planned for a Family friend....who recently lost her Mom. I thought this would be a very nice gesture for her to sit in a litle memorial area to rememger the good and bad times. But alas, i wlll get my money back or if that fails, its time for legal action that will get things rolling. Happy Thanksgiving.
View full review
1 comment
#1612316

My daughter ordered a bench for me on 5/13/208 and nothing has arrived yet. I have emailed and left messages on their answering machine. No response yet.

ID
#1403819 Review #1403819 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brockton, Massachusetts
Service
Tidewater Workshop Shipping Service
Cons
  • Service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

No delivery after 3 months

I ordered a planter on June 20, 2018. It’s now Sept 19, 2018 and still no delivery. Of course they charged my credit card immediately in June. I’ve called and left messages twice and also sent them an email. No reponse to any of that. I had ordered a bench from them 10+ years ago and had no issues. Something has definitely changed. Calling them only gets an automated voicemail saying they’re updating their customer service dept in Summer of 2018 so I gave them a break when I called a month ago. Well, summer is over. By ‘updating’ I think they mean they got rid of it. I’m going to call my credit card company now.
View full review
2 comments
#1624992

Add my complaint to your complaint...same situation...paid for bench in June....still waiting for delivery...no response from this company....and it appears that they are still in business...taking orders...unbelievable.

#1593926

I am in the same situation - - ordered a bench 2 months ago and despite 3 phone calls going to a customer service voice mail and sending an email, I have received no responses. Very sad as I ordered a bench from them about 15 years ago and was happy with the purchase. I'm giving them another 24 hours to respond and then will file a report with the department of consumer affairs.

View more comments (1)
ID
#1359908 Review #1359908 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Tidewater Workshop Shipping Service
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$75
New Reviewer

A good experience

I have ordered a number of benches, walkways and tables over the years, as gifts for presents, and I have never been disappointed. I cannot relate to the reviews on google, they do not reflect my experience with the company which has been nothing but positive. I like to leave the products unstained and let them weather to a nice silver grey, and for me they have stood up to a number of New Jersey shore winters and summers and enjoyed the products the whole time. The good news is the product is American made, it is a natural Cedar product that arrives in a knocked-down format that is easy to assemble and easy to finish.
View full review
1 comment
#1700317

We ordered a bench and a side table June 4, 2018. Credit card charged the same day.

As of 11 June 2019, no bench. Sent e-mail and many phone calls. No response.

We have ordered from Tidewater Workshop in the past 15+ years. Very disappointed with them.

ID
#1358897 Review #1358897 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Galloway, New Jersey
Pros
  • Product
Reason of review
Good quality

Charged for products, six months to get, very poor quality

Unfortunately we will never order from Tidewater again. We ordered four benches to give as gifts to some of our clients and it took six months to finally get the order though they were quick to charge our credit card. The quality is very poor, not sanded, split wood and none of the benches fit together well. We finally donated the benches to Salvation Army and purchased other benches. Having been in business for over forty-five years, we are saddened to say the company is deceptive in advertising and not quality oriented. We will not recommend purchasing from them.
View full review
ID
#1313711 Review #1313711 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Product never delivered, money taken

I ordered two items on Feb 19, 2018, and on June 28, 2018, they are still not here. They already charged my credit card. This is the third time I called them, they will send out by the end of the week. I will believe it when I see it. I always thought this was a quality company, but apparently, it is no longer. Four months of waiting is long enough. Why do I have to write 100 words, the problem is simple and does not require 100 words. Order placed, my money taken, the product never delivered. Short and sweet. Do not order from them. {{Redacted}}
View full review
ID
#1290825 Review #1290825 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Tidewater Workshop Shipping Service
New Reviewer

Still NO Furniture

I ordered a table and 4 captains chairs back in March. (Was billed then) It is now mid-June and I have not received the furniture. The first three times I called I was promised “it will arrive next week”. Now when I call all I get is an answering machine (and no call back). I don’t know what to do?!
View full review
ID
#1287279 Review #1287279 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Tidewater Workshop Shipping Service
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer

Never delivered my order

I have ordered from Tidewater Workshop many years ago and was quite satisfied with the product and the delivery. I don't know if they are under new management/ownership now, but something has definitely changed. I placed on order for a bench on April 15, 2018 and paid for it. I check online daily for an update on the order, but nothing has ever changed. I managed to talk to a real person ONCE and was told the orders usually take 4-6 weeks to complete. Since that call, I have gotten only an answering machine,no matter what time of day I call. I have left numerous messages and requested call backs. I have emailed customer service. Nothing. No response whatsoever. After reading posts on this site, I see that my problem has happened to other people. I just want resolution. It's been 10 weeks!!
View full review
ID
#1286888 Review #1286888 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

"Never again"

I ordered 2 benches and a table in the beginning of March 2018 to be delivered to SC. It is now the middle on June and all I get is false promises. I will never order from them again even though their product is fantastic. I have ordered from them before and had no problems even though delivery was slow, but this is absurd. I have, in the past, ordered 7 benches. If only someone there could give me a straight answer and stop giving me the run around, that would be highly appreciated. I can take the truth, if you have a production problem, tell me and I might understand. This not a perfect world, but don't tell me fibs to pacify me. I'm at a crossroad where I don't know if I should cut my losses or go to the better business bureau. Wish me luck, I'll need it!!
View full review
ID
#1280014 Review #1280014 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasantville, New Jersey
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$130
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Don't deliver of my furniture.

They charged the card in December, for 3 benches that I ordered and promised the beches in 6 weeks. Is the middle of March, and everytime I left a message in their machine (never a real person answer) they call back promising a delivery in the next few days that never happens. I wonder if that is some kind of stealing. Get the money and don't delivery the goods and even more. promissing deliveries that never happens. They never explain the delay nor inform that the delivery has been posponed again. And also made me waste my time waiting at home for the delivery that not happens. Is a total disrespect for the consumer, to say the least!
View full review
2 comments
#1489495

Did you get your bench? I am still waiting and thinking I need to let my credit card company know to withdraw payment.

#1480393

THEY KEEP TRYING TO PROMISE TO DELAY YOUR FILING WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY - OWNER IS A THIEF AND ADVERTISES SALES ON PRODUCT HE WILL NEVER HAVE.

View more comments (1)
ID
#1211355 Review #1211355 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Awful
  • Them taking my money and not giving me the items after 7 months
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$187
Preferred solution
Full refund

Six Months Later No Merchandise Received From Tidewater Workshop

I ordered furniture 15 years ago from TW and had no issues whatsoever, so when I saw the Monet bench on sale for a surprisingly low overstock inventory price, I jumped at it. Four months later I called to investigate why it had not arrived and spoke with a representative who claimed it was already in the mail and should arrive within 1-2 weeks. I figured this was their excuse for my order slipping through the cracks. However it has now been 6 months and no bench. Thankfully Bank of America has my back on this and will reimburse me in full.
View full review
1 comment
#1444101

Same story for me. I ordered in November 2017 and it's now March 2018 and no bench in sight even though my credit card was charged back in November 2017. I'm about ready to call my credit card company and have the charge reversed.

ID
#1152239 Review #1152239 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasantville, New Jersey

Rip-Off

I ordered several items in May 2017, and my credit card was charged immediately. Since that time (it is 7 months later) I haven't received the items, and my many attempts at contacting the company have gone unanswered. Don't buy directly from this company!! If they sell through Amazon, try them, knowing that Amazon will back you up, otherwise, steer clear of this company. This web page is telling me that I have to enter at least 100 words, but what more needs to be said after, I was charged, never received the items, and they won't reply to my inquiries and now requests for a full refund.
View full review
ID
#1141113 Review #1141113 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Them taking my money and not giving me the items after 7 months
Reason of review
Problem with delivery

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article